Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

The Secrets of Wishtide

ebook
For fans of Alexander McCall Smith and James Runcie's Grantchester Mysteries, the first novel in a clever new crime series about Victorian London and an indomitable female detective.
Mrs. Laetitia Rodd, aged fifty-two, is the widow of an archdeacon. Living in London with her confidante and landlady, Mrs. Bentley, who once let rooms to John Keats, Laetitia makes her living as a highly discreet private investigator.

Her brother, Frederick Tyson, is a criminal barrister living in the neighboring village of Highgate with his wife and ten children. Frederick finds the cases, and Laetitia solves them using her arch intelligence, her iron discretion, and her immaculate cover as an unsuspecting widow. When Frederick brings to her attention a case involving the son of the well-respected, highly connected Sir James Calderstone, Laetitia sets off for Lincolnshire to take up a position as the family's new governess—quickly making herself indispensable. But the seemingly simple case—looking into young Charles Calderstone's "inappropriate" love interest—soon takes a rather unpleasant turn. And as the family's secrets begin to unfold, Laetitia discovers the Calderstones have more to hide than most.
Introducing an irresistible new detective, the first book in the Laetitia Rodd Mystery series will enthrall and delight.

Expand title description text
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

Kindle Book

  • Release date: September 13, 2016

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9781632864505
  • File size: 550 KB
  • Release date: September 13, 2016

EPUB ebook

  • ISBN: 9781632864505
  • File size: 598 KB
  • Release date: September 13, 2016

Loading
Loading

Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB ebook

subjects

Fiction Mystery

Languages

English

For fans of Alexander McCall Smith and James Runcie's Grantchester Mysteries, the first novel in a clever new crime series about Victorian London and an indomitable female detective.
Mrs. Laetitia Rodd, aged fifty-two, is the widow of an archdeacon. Living in London with her confidante and landlady, Mrs. Bentley, who once let rooms to John Keats, Laetitia makes her living as a highly discreet private investigator.

Her brother, Frederick Tyson, is a criminal barrister living in the neighboring village of Highgate with his wife and ten children. Frederick finds the cases, and Laetitia solves them using her arch intelligence, her iron discretion, and her immaculate cover as an unsuspecting widow. When Frederick brings to her attention a case involving the son of the well-respected, highly connected Sir James Calderstone, Laetitia sets off for Lincolnshire to take up a position as the family's new governess—quickly making herself indispensable. But the seemingly simple case—looking into young Charles Calderstone's "inappropriate" love interest—soon takes a rather unpleasant turn. And as the family's secrets begin to unfold, Laetitia discovers the Calderstones have more to hide than most.
Introducing an irresistible new detective, the first book in the Laetitia Rodd Mystery series will enthrall and delight.

Expand title description text
Check Out What's Being Checked Out Right NowThe Ohio Digital Library is a program of the State Library of Ohio and is supported in whole or in part by federal Institute of Museum and Library Services funds, awarded to the State Library of Ohio.