Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

The Last Pirate

Audiobook

In the tradition of Blow and Another Bullshit Night in Suck City, The Last Pirate is a vivid, haunting and often hilarious memoir recounting the life of Big Tony, a family man who joined the biggest pot ring of the Reagan era and exploded his life in the process. Three decades later, his son came back to put together the pieces.

As he relates his father's rise from hey-man hippie dealer to multi-ton smuggler extraordinaire, Tony Dokoupil tells the larger history of marijuana and untangles the controversies still stirring furious debate today. He blends superb reportage with searing personal memories, presenting a probing chronicle of pot-smoking, drug-taking America from the perspective of the generation that grew up in the aftermath of the Great Stoned Age. Back then, everyone knew a drug dealer. The Last Pirate is the story of what happened to one of them, to his family, and in a pharmacological sense, to us all.
The Last Pirate is a cultural portrait of marijuana's endless allure set against the Technicolor backdrop of South Florida in the era of Miami Vice. It's a public saga complete with a real pirate's booty: more than a million dollars lost, buried, or stolen—but it's also a deeply personal pursuit, the product of a son's determination to replant the family tree in richer soil.


From the Hardcover edition.

Expand title description text
Publisher: Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group Edition: Unabridged

OverDrive Listen audiobook

  • ISBN: 9780553397406
  • File size: 286360 KB
  • Release date: April 1, 2014
  • Duration: 09:56:34

MP3 audiobook

  • ISBN: 9780553397406
  • File size: 286394 KB
  • Release date: April 1, 2014
  • Duration: 09:56:31
  • Number of parts: 8

Formats

OverDrive Listen audiobook
MP3 audiobook

Languages

English

In the tradition of Blow and Another Bullshit Night in Suck City, The Last Pirate is a vivid, haunting and often hilarious memoir recounting the life of Big Tony, a family man who joined the biggest pot ring of the Reagan era and exploded his life in the process. Three decades later, his son came back to put together the pieces.

As he relates his father's rise from hey-man hippie dealer to multi-ton smuggler extraordinaire, Tony Dokoupil tells the larger history of marijuana and untangles the controversies still stirring furious debate today. He blends superb reportage with searing personal memories, presenting a probing chronicle of pot-smoking, drug-taking America from the perspective of the generation that grew up in the aftermath of the Great Stoned Age. Back then, everyone knew a drug dealer. The Last Pirate is the story of what happened to one of them, to his family, and in a pharmacological sense, to us all.
The Last Pirate is a cultural portrait of marijuana's endless allure set against the Technicolor backdrop of South Florida in the era of Miami Vice. It's a public saga complete with a real pirate's booty: more than a million dollars lost, buried, or stolen—but it's also a deeply personal pursuit, the product of a son's determination to replant the family tree in richer soil.


From the Hardcover edition.

Expand title description text
Check Out What's Being Checked Out Right NowThe Ohio Digital Library is a program of the State Library of Ohio and is supported in whole or in part by federal Institute of Museum and Library Services funds, awarded to the State Library of Ohio.